NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$18,807 - $36,807  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

268 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 268 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great midsize SUV with aggressive exterior styling

by 3rdfred from North Tustin, Ca on Sun Oct 21 2018

Great so far. Bought a 2017 Explorer Limited with 15k miles just off lease not wanting to pay for instant depreciation of new car. It is loaded with safety features, cameras, etc. Looked at GMC Acadia but it was a little smaller & didn't have a CD player or cooled, ventilated seats a must in So Cali for a 72 year old guy. Traded in an old Lexus LS400 for this. Also still have a Vette convertible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Far superior to competitors! Even larger vehicles.

by Samlovesford from Windsor, California on Mon Sep 11 2017

This vehicle is amazing. I traded in a 2010 Yukon Denali for it. Yukon was of course fully loaded, and so is this. Ended up with the Explorer XLT with Sport Appearance Package and some other extras. Was comparing with Dodge, Honda, Nissan, and GM options. For the price, which was excellent for the deal we ended up with but pricey in terms of some other options, you get the most for your money. We got a better deal and ended up paying less than we would for a Dodge Journey- which is smaller, $10,000 less fully loaded, and equipped to tow off the lot, unlike the Dodge we had to pay for that after and they wouldn't throw it in for us under any circumstances on the top. Our sales crew catered to us, found exactly what we wanted, had it there the next day, refused to let us sign until we saw it, again, unlike Dodge, who wanted us to pay for and sign for a vehicle we wouldn't get to see for 4 days and drive off the lot, after paying for a new vehicle, in our old one. No. Even the 2.3L ecoboost is enough to tow my husband's boat uphill, in crazy terrain, and we only got the FWD. Love the Sync 3 capability and user friendly options. Interior is roomier than most other competitors, space in back may not measure bigger technically compared to other brands, but it is more useful, which in turn means it holds more. Love the extra space under and behind 3rd row, and folding them down flat is SO NICE!!! I love the look as it pulls up when are watching from the outside. Drove off the lot and my kids fell asleep in minutes because it was so quiet and smooth. Great hands free functionality, remote start, coded key pad to enter is so sweet, two times suede and leather I didn't think I would like, but geez. It is beautiful and comfy. And resilient, with kids I expected to be scrubbing off the suede and ruining it. Cleans as easy as full leather. Warranty and maintenance included in our purchase, for 5 years. Can't beat that, alone. Most offer 3 years, tops, or 5 but with a real serious catch to it. The sport appearance package gives you the black rims and trim, and boy does it put competitors to shame. Compliments from everyone who sees it. You ride up higher than most other smaller class Sun's with a similar price tag, roomier and more like a large class SUV, but without that size price tag. My husband absolutely loves it, too, and he was always a GM guy. We have officially turned into happy Ford owners. Great for kids, fun for adults. The Sony stereo system and speakers has some serious pep to it. As does the engine, even with ecoboost and 2.3L. I see others say it doesn't get great gas mileage. All in how you drive it with SUV's, as with any other truck (as it is technically that). I have a lead foot as my husband would say, and I still average 18 mpg around and in town. So I disagree. And with a few hundred miles on it thus far. If you don't get great gas mileage, then stop speeding up and slowing down and speeding up and slowing down. Use the amazing adaptive cruise control or find your sweet spot with the gas pedal and stay there while driving. It's the throttle, off, throttle, off driving with ANY SUV that will reduce your fuel efficiency.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Waste of money for pricy limited model

by Charlie from Franklin, Wi on Tue Nov 20 2018

Car was delivered with outdated data loaded into navigation system, and for customer service advised to use cell phone instead. Smell of catalytic converter in passenger compartment due to design flaw and spent numerous times at dealer for fix, but it still stinks during rapid acceleration. Factory installed tires (Hankook) are junk after 25,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

comfortable ride

by Grandma 7x on Wed Jul 04 2018

This vehicle will be awesome for the grandchildren. great ride, cool seats. Love the front and back cameras. The moon roof will be a surprise for the babies to see the stars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Versatile SUV

by GradyE from Cleburne, TX on Mon Jan 07 2019

Very comfortable, good performance, nice amenities. Having had the previous version of Sync, the Sync 3 on this model is MILES ahead in user-friendliness and options. The vehicle is very quiet on the highway and excellent on road trips. Very happy with the purchase!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Travel Vehicle

by Emartin on Sun Aug 12 2018

This vehicle is a quiet comfortable ride. Great technology. Only down side is the cheap plastic trim around the windows. Not an issue as long as you don’t have to replace the windshield. The easily crack and brake and need to be replaced with the new window. This is a poor design choice made by ford. Still would buy another one in a heart beat! Great SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 6th Explorer

by Rob from Johns Creek GA on Mon May 01 2017

Reliable, comfortable, and safe. I have owned 6 explorers and whenever its time to shop for a new vehicle I shop around and end up back at Ford and end up in an Explorer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very smooth riding vehicle

by Jack from Green bay WIsconson on Tue Nov 20 2018

3.5 liter v6 has adequate power to move the vehicle, vs 3.5 liter v6 twn turbo, and turbo gets worse gas milage, but limited comes standar with a 2.3 liter I 4cylnder 280 hp engine but what rpm do you have to rev engine to to get the 280 hp, also I think this small of engine will not move the vehicle with effiencently thus getting poor gas mileage in comparison to the 3.5 liter engine. the xlt can be loaded with options, stereo none sony 6 spearker system with 8" nave screen sounds good , limited will come with electical button to fold 3rd row seats, and can get electical lifting power lift gate, but you can get this option with xlt, gas mileage is good for this size of vehicle, mpg is 20 mpg city highway if you drive very conservitatively you can get 22mpg for city highway driving engine is quiet, 6 speed transmition shifts smoothly. Long in comparison to Jeep grand cherokee. But the cost of maitenance should be much lower.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best new car I have owned

by explorer from Sherman on Tue Aug 15 2017

We needed a third row and this filled the bill. It has an excellent technology package and we are truly enjoying the hands free aspect of navigation, on the road as well as the radio function.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Base Model has almost everything I need

by FloridaFisherman from Key Largo, FL on Mon Oct 31 2016

I've got 1000 miles on my new Ford Explorer and overall, the family is happy with it. It drives very nicely, more like a car than a truck. It is very comfortable. Plenty of seating and storage. My only regret is that I didn't pay extra for the lane change warning system that tells you when there is a car next to you...not that visibility is bad, just that I rented another one and it was a nice feature to have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

86 out of 87 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 27