NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2019 Ford Explorer

$32,365 - $54,165  MSRP Range
2019 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

34 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1st Ford Iv'e owned in many, many years

by "Triple A" from Bartow on Tue Feb 12 2019

I'm 6'4" and I still have plenty of room. It has all the current technology "bells & whistles" yet the controls/switches are conveniently located and simple to learn and use. The 2.3L Ecoboost engine is amazing. The salesperson never mentioned what size the engine was prior to our test drive and I was shocked to later find out it was a 4 cylinder having 'assumed' it was a V6 based on it's test drive performance. I'm now a 4cyl Ecoboost convert. Fuel economy is good and the best part is the engine does not shutdown/restart when stopping in traffic like the 2019 Chevrolet Traverse did that I had purchased 2 days before and returned the same day upon discovering the engine would automatically stop/start when stopped in traffic. A feature that could not be bypassed and a feature me and my wife would not tolerate. Completely satisfied with the looks, quality, drivability ,and price of our Explorer Limited.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is fully loaded with evrthing you need. T

by Apriell1966 from sicklerville on Fri Jan 18 2019

This car took care of all of the things I need in a car , Couldn't ask for more , This car has the sport look I love but, when you drive it you feel like your just floating in the air you dont feel all the bumps in the road like in other trucks I've had.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Second Explorer... 19 years apart!

by MbolenMo from St Louis, MO on Sun Feb 17 2019

We owned our first Explorer (2000) for 18 years. In between then and now we purchased two BMWs (‘03 sedan and ‘12 SAV) and an ‘05 Jeep. After the arrival of three grandsons in 25 months I decided I needed something with a little more room and a third row. After “building” a new BMW x7 (sight unseen) and a new Explorer online there was no comparison in price. For essentially the same function and >$30k difference, the smart money is on the Ford. The 2020 Explorer is a model reboot, so this one has been around for awhile, it’s tried and true, and I don’t need the latest and greatest in everything. This Explorer reminds me a lot of my daughter’s big 2019 Range Rover. It’s not as stylish or plush as either the Rover or BMW, but for hauling estate sale purchases and little boys it goes a long way... Ford has a lot of things right in this vehicle, which is why the Explorer is the best-selling SUV in the U.S.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Back for another!

by ClareMK from Grand Rapids, MI on Tue Feb 05 2019

We loved our 2016 Explorer so much, we traded it in for a 2019. These are the best SUVs we've ever driven. They look sharp, are so comfortable inside, and the new upgraded tech make them nearly flawless. Love!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Had Fords Before

by Maddyk from Melbourne, FL on Tue Mar 19 2019

I had a 1996 Eddie Bauer Ford Explorer & the car was one of the best I owned. I kept the car for 10 years and never had any big problems. The car even had the Firestone tire no problem there either. In 10 years I had brakes twice, 2 batteries & new tires one time in 10 years with 100,000 miles. I hope I have the same luck with this car. My new Explorer has all the safety equipment that’s on the market today with a beautiful interior as well as exterior. I am satisfied with the car however I wish I didn’t buy it at that awful Kelly Dealership I. Melbourne, Fl

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Welcome Back

by Tazz from Edmonton Albeerta on Tue Nov 20 2018

Well must say Ford came a long way , i am a sales rep so every 4 years get a new vehicle, Use to drive Ford Windstar , Expedition , Love my Explorer The whole vehicle is unbelievable . Ford World Class !!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford Explorer XLT

by Jent497 from Coldwater MI on Mon Apr 01 2019

Beautiful vehicle inside and out. I love the room and that it seats up to seven passengers comfortably. Safety package was very important. Second time leasing an Explorer, and love them both. Towing package is a plus. Love the Burgandy Velvet exterior and the Medium Stone Gray interior. Awesome vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect vehicle for a family!

by JulieS12 from Paducah, Kentucky on Fri Apr 12 2019

I have 3 boys and needed plenty of room, the Explorer is perfect for us, the interior is so nice, and we are very happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superior amenities to other similar suv’s

by SWProff from Murrieta, ca on Sun Dec 16 2018

So far this vehicle is the best ford we’ve owned. The power of the twin turbos along with the luxury features is amazing. I recommend everyone to test drive one if your in the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I really liked Ford Explorer.

by PS VI from Los Angeles CA on Sat Sep 22 2018

I really liked Ford Explorer. I would add a bit more noise insulation, more expensive inside the salon department. added $ 1000 for this and the car complied with 100% of my requirements.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4