NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Santa Fe

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

#6 Most Popular SUV/Crossover
$25,500 - $38,800  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

59 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Head & Shoulders above the 2018 Terrain Denali

by Brandong8man from Tampa, FL on Thu Aug 23 2018

I've had my Ultimate 2.0T Santa Fe for about a month. All expectations exceeded. It's superior in every way to the 2018 GMC Terrain Denali I traded in. It's hard to believe the Santa Fe is actually several thousand cheaper. The biggest difference is in qualify feel and quietness. The Terrain felt like an econobox by comparison. About the only area where the Santa Falls a little short is in fuel economy. Averaging about 2mpg less..but it does take regular fuel and the Terrain required premium. So, I guess even that comes out as a win for the Santa Fe in the end.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV,

by Skc from Attleboro, Ma on Fri Oct 26 2018

Love everything about this SUV. I test drove 7 other brands and loved the look and interior styling. It has more tech/ safety features than all the others and had a less cluttered looking dashboard. Everything is well laid out. Love the heads up display. This was the only car in this price range to have that. Got the non turbo Ultimate model. Engine is peppy enough for me, especially in sports mode. Great sound system too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New to Hyundai, BOUGHT new 2019 SF 2.4L ltd

by RochHam from Minnesota on Thu Nov 01 2018

THIS IS AN ADDER to our Oct 17 "test drive" review. So we purchased a new Santa Fe Limited AWD 2.4L in late Oct 2018. AWD's needed to get through difficult winter roads conditions living on a curvy hilly road in the So Minnesota woods plus other midwest winter family visits. While we'd owned 2 Jeep Grand Cherokees in the past 18 years no longer tow anything and never went off roading, so a SUV with intelligent AWD is fine although I wanted the option to have 4WD lock at low speeds on slippery county roads. My wife wanted heated (real) leather seats and a power liftgate & power passenger seat, while I wanted Android auto. And as we age the safety features (blind spot, fwd/rear collision, lane assist) were requirements along with excellent headlights. The Santa Fe Limited met & exceeded all our main requirements, here is a very early pre-winter snow review after 200 mi of around town driving. Other drives and competition: I drove both a SF SEL+ and Limited Turbo. No leather or LED headlights in the SEL+; did not care about a sunroof but have to admit this 2x sized sunroof in our Limited really makes it feel spacious. I did not like the lag or jerkiness of the turbo so that along with a $1600 price difference and 30+% more maintenance convinced me quick the standard 2.4L 4 cylinder would do just fine in midwestern flat land with mostly 2 passengers and no towing. I did a some driving of the 2018 Mazda CX5 GT and a loaded RAV4 Limited which didn't have features we wanted. The Subaru Outback has best AWD but CVT’s not peppy nor heated seats hot. Not needing the towing of a Grand Cherokee I was surprised the equivalent model had gone up $15,000 from our prior 07 SUV. Driving a 3.6L Cherokee in our price range, I liked the engine & interior features but storage space was about half other SUVs in it’s class and safety features in Tech package optional & hard to find. Honda CRVs LX have major issues with gas/oil mix in cold climates of the 1.5L turbo .. Santa Fe Limited PROS QUIET comfortable roomy interior w/excellent infotainment Safety features easy to use. Auto stop at lights kinda weird but ok so far, responsive. Like the easy to switch Smart mode, Comfort (ECO) mode, Sport mode which is sporty on this smooth 8 speed tranny. 4WD lock operational up to 40mph in 2019s LED auto headlights excellent range, seem to work fine on 2 lane roads LOTs of hidden storage in rear under carpet (we got the hatch cover unfortunately it costs extra) Hyundai warranty 5/60 full, 10/100 powertrain is the best Consumer reports positive review; Hyundai as a brand is 10 of 29 so top ’ but not as good as Toyota or Mazda Remote start & car status free with Hyundai internet control Familiarity with local dealer close to home Santa Fe Limited QUESTIONABLES Jury is out on this 4 cylinder, but it does have 10 more hp than Toyotas and the 8 speed tranny is excellent. Still 185 hp for a 3600 lb SUV, but compare to 235 hp for my 4600 lb Jeeps’ Never owned a Hyundai despite early Santa Fe or Veracruz being semifinalists during past drives when we bought Jeeps (but SF made in America, 40% Am parts too if it matters) so ANY RELIABILITY RATING at this point is NUTS , WHO KNOWS’’ Hankook tires TBD, would have preferred Michelin MPG so far 22 around town which is great compared to 14 in our Jeeps, but not stellar Dang it, a recall on side airbag bolts just came out (had similar on Jeeps and Camry's had 2 incl tranny reprog)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells and whistles’’

by Santa Fe Fans from Hamptonroads Virginia on Tue Sep 25 2018

I purchased the ultimate trim. This car provides the best value for the money spent: It has every new gadget I know of and they’re all currently under the best new car warranty available. I love the 2019 body style as well as the two tone leather interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing new look.

by Ctlong from NIAGARA FALLS on Wed Sep 19 2018

Nice ride. Suprising power and pick up for a 2.4L 4 cyl engine. Lots of room. Amazing saftey and driving features as standard equipment. Purchased Preferred trim package. Very nicely equipped.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for the money.

by Larry from Bellmore, NY on Thu Sep 20 2018

This car has the most safety technology of any car I've ever owned. It was a great value for a mid-sized SUV. Although I've only owned and driven it for a short while, it has exceeded all of my expectations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Santa Fe All the Way

by bag1950 from Homewood, IL on Mon Oct 22 2018

This is my second Santa Fee and I'm lovin' it. Design--both interior and exterior are great. Reliability of this vehicle is top notch. I traded in my 2012 with 142,000 miles for the 2019. Maintenance on the 2012 was normal wear & tear--never a problem! I expect to get the same out of the 2019. Hyundai & the Dealer (Family Hyundai, Tinley Park, IL) have me for life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Vehicle looks great outside and in.

by Jimmy from Sun City West on Mon Oct 15 2018

Very comfortable and extremely quiet. Great smooth ride, lots of leg room front and back. good looking interior and all controls are easy to reach.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my sassy lil' red Santa Fe!

by Mama RoJO from IDAHO FALLS on Tue Oct 16 2018

We have been considering the Hyundai Santa Fe for over a year. I just could not seem to pull the trigger on the 2018 Santa Fe Sport...fast forward to the test drive of the redesigned 2019 Santa Fe and I had no reservations about the purchase. I researched and compared cars in the same class over and over. The Hyundai is a great value. Top notch safety features. Feels and drives like a luxury car or if you push a button it will handle like a sports car...SO FUN! I have a 6'1" teenager- leg room in the second row got the thumbs up! Hands down best value for us. We actually have a family member who works for Hyundai. We were able to purchase as part of the employee referral program saving us nearly $9000. We bought the Ultimate 2.0T.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful safety features

by barbh151 from Old Bridge, NJ on Tue Oct 16 2018

This car had every feature I could think of, plus more. I love the safety features included. It is so comfortable, too. The turbo engine is definitely a plus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

The verdict:

Comfortable and well-equipped, the redesigned 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe should appeal to families shopping the mid-size two-row SUV class, but a few drivability issues annoy.

Versus the competition:

The mid-size SUV class is poised to get a lot more competitive, with Honda and Chevrolet readying the 2019 Passport and 2019 Blazer, respectively, Ford launching an updated 2019 Edge SUV and Nissan offering a refreshed Murano. As with other Hyundai models, value for the money promises to be one of the Santa Fe's biggest selling points.

Hyundai has tinkered with the names of its mid-size and full-size SUVs for the 2019 model year. The redesigned two-row 2019 Santa Fe reviewed here replaces the Santa Fe Sport in Hyundai's lineup, and the three-row Santa Fe has been dubbed Santa Fe XL for 2019 but is a carryover model with few changes. The Santa Fe XL isn't long for this world, though; it's slated to be replaced by the three-row Hyundai Palisade, which will arrive next summer as a 2020 model. 

The 2019 Santa Fe starts at $26,545, including a $1,045 destination charge, for a base front-wheel-drive SE trim. We tested two higher-end versions: a $36,620 front-wheel-drive Ultimate with the 185-horsepower, 2.4-liter four-cylinder... Read More