Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2019 Santa Fe

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

#8 Most Popular SUV/Crossover
$25,500 - $38,800  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

25 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Lots of bang for the buck

by VRMNTAH from Rollinsford, NH on Fri Sep 28 2018

Purchased the Ultimate edition with the turbo engine and AWD 3 weeks ago. This is my first Hyundai and I am impressed so far. The options and extensive safety features are what drew me to the car and brand. My last car was a BMW 435 x-drive convertible, so I was a little concerned that the Hyundai wouldn't stand up the BMW. Admittedly, I am comparing apples and oranges here, but after looking at many of the small to mid-sized SUVs out there (Volvo XC 60, BMW 3 & 5 series, Mercedes GLC & GLE, Lexus and the new Acura RDX), the Santa Fe Ultimate had more available features than the other brands and came in - at a minimum - $10,000 less than the other vehicles similarly equipped. Some of the other vehicles, when fully optioned, were coming in as high as $70k. My only gripes so far are the following: 1) lack of "dynamic light bending" which is an option on the Elantra. My last car had this and it's a great feature that should be standard on cars. 2) lack of front parking sensors...this seems like a silly oversight given how loaded the car is. 3) the rear seat sensor that notifies you if you forgot something (pets, kids, etc) is a nice option but it needs more refinement. I was out shopping the other day and left the windows down when I went into the store. Every time someone walked by the car it the would think something was in the back seat and set off the horn/lights. I was shopping and kept hearing a horn going off and thought, "whose the idiot who can't figure out their car alarm". Turns out it was me... Luckily you can shut this feature off. One thing that I REALLY like is the ability to start the car from an app on my iPhone and be able to set the temperature as well. This was amazing the other day when it was 90 degrees and humid and I started the care remotely as I was leaving the golf course - car was nice and cool when I got in. Living in New England, this will be an amazing feature in the winter as well. Overall, very happy with the purchase. I would definitely advise people to check out this car. The value proposition is excellent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Head & Shoulders above the 2018 Terrain Denali

by Brandong8man from Tampa, FL on Thu Aug 23 2018

I've had my Ultimate 2.0T Santa Fe for about a month. All expectations exceeded. It's superior in every way to the 2018 GMC Terrain Denali I traded in. It's hard to believe the Santa Fe is actually several thousand cheaper. The biggest difference is in qualify feel and quietness. The Terrain felt like an econobox by comparison. About the only area where the Santa Falls a little short is in fuel economy. Averaging about 2mpg less..but it does take regular fuel and the Terrain required premium. So, I guess even that comes out as a win for the Santa Fe in the end.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells and whistles??

by Santa Fe Fans from Hamptonroads Virginia on Tue Sep 25 2018

I purchased the ultimate trim. This car provides the best value for the money spent: It has every new gadget I know of and they?re all currently under the best new car warranty available. I love the 2019 body style as well as the two tone leather interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The exact car that fills my need

by klbls from wichita falls, tx on Fri Sep 21 2018

Perfect vehicle all of the current safety features. wonderful ride smooth as glass on the road. Plenty of room for storage and lots of back seat room for large adults.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing new look.

by Ctlong from NIAGARA FALLS on Wed Sep 19 2018

Nice ride. Suprising power and pick up for a 2.4L 4 cyl engine. Lots of room. Amazing saftey and driving features as standard equipment. Purchased Preferred trim package. Very nicely equipped.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV,

by Skc from Attleboro, Ma on Fri Oct 26 2018

Love everything about this SUV. I test drove 7 other brands and loved the look and interior styling. It has more tech/ safety features than all the others and had a less cluttered looking dashboard. Everything is well laid out. Love the heads up display. This was the only car in this price range to have that. Got the non turbo Ultimate model. Engine is peppy enough for me, especially in sports mode. Great sound system too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for the money.

by Larry from Bellmore, NY on Thu Sep 20 2018

This car has the most safety technology of any car I've ever owned. It was a great value for a mid-sized SUV. Although I've only owned and driven it for a short while, it has exceeded all of my expectations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New to Hyundai, BOUGHT new 2019 SF 2.4L ltd

by RochHam from Minnesota on Thu Nov 01 2018

THIS IS AN ADDER to our Oct 17 "test drive" review. So we purchased a new Santa Fe Limited AWD 2.4L in late Oct 2018. AWD's needed to get through difficult winter roads conditions living on a curvy hilly road in the So Minnesota woods plus other midwest winter family visits. While we'd owned 2 Jeep Grand Cherokees in the past 18 years no longer tow anything and never went off roading, so a SUV with intelligent AWD is fine although I wanted the option to have 4WD lock at low speeds on slippery county roads. My wife wanted heated (real) leather seats and a power liftgate & power passenger seat, while I wanted Android auto. And as we age the safety features (blind spot, fwd/rear collision, lane assist) were requirements along with excellent headlights. The Santa Fe Limited met & exceeded all our main requirements, here is a very early pre-winter snow review after 200 mi of around town driving. Other drives and competition: I drove both a SF SEL+ and Limited Turbo. No leather or LED headlights in the SEL+; did not care about a sunroof but have to admit this 2x sized sunroof in our Limited really makes it feel spacious. I did not like the lag or jerkiness of the turbo so that along with a $1600 price difference and 30+% more maintenance convinced me quick the standard 2.4L 4 cylinder would do just fine in midwestern flat land with mostly 2 passengers and no towing. I did a some driving of the 2018 Mazda CX5 GT and a loaded RAV4 Limited which didn't have features we wanted. The Subaru Outback has best AWD but CVT?s not peppy nor heated seats hot. Not needing the towing of a Grand Cherokee I was surprised the equivalent model had gone up $15,000 from our prior 07 SUV. Driving a 3.6L Cherokee in our price range, I liked the engine & interior features but storage space was about half other SUVs in it?s class and safety features in Tech package optional & hard to find. Honda CRVs LX have major issues with gas/oil mix in cold climates of the 1.5L turbo .. Santa Fe Limited PROS QUIET comfortable roomy interior w/excellent infotainment Safety features easy to use. Auto stop at lights kinda weird but ok so far, responsive. Like the easy to switch Smart mode, Comfort (ECO) mode, Sport mode which is sporty on this smooth 8 speed tranny. 4WD lock operational up to 40mph in 2019s LED auto headlights excellent range, seem to work fine on 2 lane roads LOTs of hidden storage in rear under carpet (we got the hatch cover unfortunately it costs extra) Hyundai warranty 5/60 full, 10/100 powertrain is the best Consumer reports positive review; Hyundai as a brand is 10 of 29 so top ? but not as good as Toyota or Mazda Remote start & car status free with Hyundai internet control Familiarity with local dealer close to home Santa Fe Limited QUESTIONABLES Jury is out on this 4 cylinder, but it does have 10 more hp than Toyotas and the 8 speed tranny is excellent. Still 185 hp for a 3600 lb SUV, but compare to 235 hp for my 4600 lb Jeeps? Never owned a Hyundai despite early Santa Fe or Veracruz being semifinalists during past drives when we bought Jeeps (but SF made in America, 40% Am parts too if it matters) so ANY RELIABILITY RATING at this point is NUTS , WHO KNOWS?? Hankook tires TBD, would have preferred Michelin MPG so far 22 around town which is great compared to 14 in our Jeeps, but not stellar Dang it, a recall on side airbag bolts just came out (had similar on Jeeps and Camry's had 2 incl tranny reprog)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Vehicle looks great outside and in.

by Jimmy from Sun City West on Mon Oct 15 2018

Very comfortable and extremely quiet. Great smooth ride, lots of leg room front and back. good looking interior and all controls are easy to reach.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best bang for my dollar.

by Kiwi special from Nekoosa on Mon Oct 15 2018

This is my 3rd Santa fa. Style is great and the ride is very important to me. Plenty of room and the new blind spots have been addressed. Safety is important and Hyundai is 2nd to none. Leg room in rear is a plus

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3