NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Santa Fe

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

$25,750 - $38,800  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

96 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Head & Shoulders above the 2018 Terrain Denali

by Brandong8man from Tampa, FL on Thu Aug 23 2018

I've had my Ultimate 2.0T Santa Fe for about a month. All expectations exceeded. It's superior in every way to the 2018 GMC Terrain Denali I traded in. It's hard to believe the Santa Fe is actually several thousand cheaper. The biggest difference is in qualify feel and quietness. The Terrain felt like an econobox by comparison. About the only area where the Santa Falls a little short is in fuel economy. Averaging about 2mpg less..but it does take regular fuel and the Terrain required premium. So, I guess even that comes out as a win for the Santa Fe in the end.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV,

by Skc from Attleboro, Ma on Fri Oct 26 2018

Love everything about this SUV. I test drove 7 other brands and loved the look and interior styling. It has more tech/ safety features than all the others and had a less cluttered looking dashboard. Everything is well laid out. Love the heads up display. This was the only car in this price range to have that. Got the non turbo Ultimate model. Engine is peppy enough for me, especially in sports mode. Great sound system too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the bells and whistles’’

by Santa Fe Fans from Hamptonroads Virginia on Tue Sep 25 2018

I purchased the ultimate trim. This car provides the best value for the money spent: It has every new gadget I know of and they’re all currently under the best new car warranty available. I love the 2019 body style as well as the two tone leather interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Santa Fe All the Way

by bag1950 from Homewood, IL on Mon Oct 22 2018

This is my second Santa Fee and I'm lovin' it. Design--both interior and exterior are great. Reliability of this vehicle is top notch. I traded in my 2012 with 142,000 miles for the 2019. Maintenance on the 2012 was normal wear & tear--never a problem! I expect to get the same out of the 2019. Hyundai & the Dealer (Family Hyundai, Tinley Park, IL) have me for life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing new look.

by Ctlong from NIAGARA FALLS on Wed Sep 19 2018

Nice ride. Suprising power and pick up for a 2.4L 4 cyl engine. Lots of room. Amazing saftey and driving features as standard equipment. Purchased Preferred trim package. Very nicely equipped.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for the money.

by Larry from Bellmore, NY on Thu Sep 20 2018

This car has the most safety technology of any car I've ever owned. It was a great value for a mid-sized SUV. Although I've only owned and driven it for a short while, it has exceeded all of my expectations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Vehicle looks great outside and in.

by Jimmy from Sun City West on Mon Oct 15 2018

Very comfortable and extremely quiet. Great smooth ride, lots of leg room front and back. good looking interior and all controls are easy to reach.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tremendous Value/Options!

by Bpotts224 from Columbus, Ohio on Wed Oct 10 2018

I was very shocked to learn more about Hyundai. The redesigned 2019 Sante Fe is packed with all the bells and whistles anyone could want, the most amazing features to me are the safety features. The exterior feels solid and the interior is made from quality materials and feels very luxurious. I would absolutely recommend this vehicle to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far I love it

by Davep from Sturgis MI on Fri Nov 23 2018

Bought this yesterday and am very impressed already .I am a 6'6" large man and I am comfortable in any seat. The 8 speed transmission shifts smoothly and keeps the engine in its power band effectively. It was quite surprising at the ease of acceleration and found myself exceeding the speed limit often without realizing it. The ride is incredibly smooth and comfortable. Found this to be a great value and fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car

by Cw from Cleveland,ohio on Fri Oct 26 2018

This car is very comfortable, reliable, good looking. I have had 3 Hyundai cars and never had to spend a lot of money on repairs. I just keep up my normal routine care visits.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

The verdict:

Comfortable and well-equipped, the redesigned 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe should appeal to families shopping the mid-size two-row SUV class, but a few drivability issues annoy.

Versus the competition:

The mid-size SUV class is poised to get a lot more competitive, with Honda and Chevrolet readying the 2019 Passport and 2019 Blazer, respectively, Ford launching an updated 2019 Edge SUV and Nissan offering a refreshed Murano. As with other Hyundai models, value for the money promises to be one of the Santa Fe's biggest selling points.

Hyundai has tinkered with the names of its mid-size and full-size SUVs for the 2019 model year. The redesigned two-row 2019 Santa Fe reviewed here replaces the Santa Fe Sport in Hyundai's lineup, and the three-row Santa Fe has been dubbed Santa Fe XL for 2019 but is a carryover model with few changes. The Santa Fe XL isn't long for this world, though; it's slated to be replaced by the three-row Hyundai Palisade, which will arrive next summer as a 2020 model. 

The 2019 Santa Fe starts at $26,545, including a $1,045 destination charge, for a base front-wheel-drive SE trim. We tested two higher-end versions: a $36,620 front-wheel-drive Ultimate with the 185-horsepower, 2.4-liter four-cylinder... Read More