2017 86

Consumer Reviews
2017 Toyota 86

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

17 Reviews
2017 Toyota 86
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Best RWD Sports Car Under $30K

by Houner from Coronado, CA on May 29, 2017

The 2017 Toyota 86 is a very tightly balanced sports car that is very fun to drive. The automatic is both very convenient and shiftable both with the stick or paddles. Corners great, drifts well and has enough power to be very competitive in autocross events. Great for daily driver and weekend track and road trips. Trunk is big enough for 2'full size golf bags and suitcases.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Great Design, Great Value

by EricJ from Burlington, ON on July 22, 2017

I am very happy with this car. The Toyota 86 offers exceptional quality and design for the money. It would be nice if the engine was a bit more powerful, but it's not bad. I'm 21 and the insurance on this car is not bad at all for it being a 2-door sports car. Car looks great in Oceanic blue exterior with black interior. The interior is on the more basic side, not offering a lot of extra features, but that makes it simple to use too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

86-860

by 86-860 from Charlotte, NC on July 11, 2017

I purchased a new 86 860 and have to say it is a blast to drive. It gets tons of looks and corners like a go-cart.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for your buck sports car!

by JShawn from McKinney TX on March 29, 2017

This car is more than fun to drive around on the streets. The bolstered bucket racing style seats give you the feel of a sports car the second you sit down. The sporty exhaust and manual transmission make your boring drive to work rather exciting! I always look forward to driving this car. I have to make up excuses to go places just so I can drive it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota 86

by Joe D from Dubois Pennsylvania on April 15, 2017

Beautiful white toyota 86 awesome headlights very bright sweat ride!!!!!! The car has everything you could want style power and comfort-nice!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

it is the smoothest!

by Grumps from Mill Creek WA. on August 1, 2017

It isn't the fanciest, the fastest or the most expensive but it is by far the best car to drive I've owned. And I've owned many.i didn't listen to all the kiddies and bought the automatic. Glad I did. Traffic is not good for stick shifts and the auto gets better gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not too many cars lime my 86.

by shoecityslim from Boston Ma on September 1, 2017

Did you ever wonder what you would have, if you bolted a 205 bhp chainsaw engine to a go-kart and add a windscreen? Well, you can satisfy your curiosity, and drive a Toyota 86/Subaru BRZ. They are the same car, just a different badge on the hood. This is a stiff riding , quick handling, slingshot of a car. Not the fastest car, a lots of cars will run from it away in a straight line, but a lot more fun to drive than those over-powered beasts. Not an easy car to drive smoothly, you'll need to pay attention. But, fun, fun, fun. The reason you buy a car like this, is to enjoy the art of driving. There is one serious fault and that's the tyres. I am going to put Continentals on her and expect better ride quality and adhesion. Someone will point out her faults, and you'll say "Don't care, I love her regardless."

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the car!! Excellent!

by unixsan from on April 3, 2017

Own it and Love it! Corolla. Simply the Best! Sharing it with friends!! Love the performance and awesome ride!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hugs the road like no other

by Jeepers from Centralia wa on May 27, 2017

The handling on this car is insane. It's a dream to drive and we take turns making up reasons to drive it. It's just a really fun car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Toyota 86 are for kids

by A.dela from Joppa on September 9, 2017

Toyota 86 has a slick style and looks much like the BRZ but I would much rather wait for the Supra to come back. This car is low to the ground and you could break ankle upon exiting this car. Test driving this vehicle leave a little to be desired. For one the background noise can be heard inside the cabin. The options were limited and you feel like you are cramped. This is what teenagers would enjoy driving and I am a grown man.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2017 Toyota 86