2014 FJ Cruiser

Consumer Reviews
2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

35 Reviews
2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Bombproof

by jay from Philadelphia, pa area on August 17, 2015

I bought this FJ in 2007 and have not had a single mechanical issue with it. The only problem is that the 2007 alloy wheels have the chrome-alloy finish peeling off nearest the brake rotors on the inside-face of the spokes. The exterior finish has not deteriorated otherwise despite being in the sun, driven off road, salt and rocks in winter and northeast muggy heat waves. In fact, since this is my beater vehicle and bike-hauler, it doesn't even get to go through a carwash (mostly because the hitch rack never comes off.....ever. I lost the key in 2011. (I'll cut the rack off when it's time.) So I am amazed that the paint has not deteriorated whatsoever. Read that again, I have never had any vehicle in my 52 long years that didn't have some paint deterioration or even rust/corrosion like this Tank. It has been in minor accidents (Teenagers) and some nasty weather but seems to shrug off any adversity. The milage is not too high, but even though, it has not required anything other than a new battery, tires and the occasional filters of various sorts. The brakes are still original, the entire mechanical suite hasn't really needed any work and other than some aftermarket add-ons (bluetooth gadget via the aux port, wiring harness for the occasional trailer-prior to rack key loss, etc) this vehicle does not have reliability or even maintanence issues. I am thinking of giving to my daughter and getting a newer one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Glad I did it!

by hawkfinfan from Marion, IA on June 24, 2014

I just bought the FJ a few days ago so I gave the FJ 5* as I have had no issues. Gas mileage is low, but it is expected. I got the package with the rear view camera. Get this as spare wheel is a blind spot. I have had no problems backing up. Everyone stares at the styling. It is a winner. The only thing that is a pain is setting the Bluetooth phone numbers. All vehicles are a pain though doing this. You can hear the exhaust because of the storage area in back. It is a low rumble. It is not annoying in anyway, but if you come from a car, you will notice it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best SUV......period

by Dano from Ohio on May 3, 2014

This is my 2nd FJ Cruiser. Since Toyota has decided to discontinue production after 2014 I wanted to get one of the last ones. It will be the last vehicle of this type I will buy. Having recently retired my wife and I and our 4 dogs plan on doing a lot more of the outdoor activities we love, mainly camping at our state parks and out of state vacations. We tow a pop-up camper and take 2 of the 4 dogs with us. The FJ tows the pop-up with ease. As a daily driver the ride is very compliant,quiet and comfortable. The gas mileage is decent, the unique style sets it apart from everything else on the market. The Bluetooth and JBL audio system w/subwoofer is great. I love this vehicle and I am disappointed with Toyota for ending production.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 FJ CRUISER

by SAM J from on May 25, 2016

I TRADED MY 07 PATHFINDER FOR THIS 2014 FJ CRUISER AND IT WAS THE BEST DICISION I EVER MADE ON A CAR , LATER FOUD OUT IT WAS THE LAST YEAR FOR THE PRODECTION OF THIS CAR ,AND THE PRICE NOW IS HIGHER THE IT WAS WORTH TO YEARS AGO (VALUE) , THE ONLY THIN IS VISIBILITY BUT I HAVE A REAR VIEW CAMERA . I LOVE THE DRIVING , THE POWER , IT IS VERY STRONG AN I LOVE IT

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun drive.

by Cruiser from on November 10, 2016

Very reliable vehicle. Fun drive, easy to get around in town and country. Roomy for passengers and cargo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exactly what you expect

by oti from 17110 on May 14, 2014

I expected a high quality vehicle that was excellent off-road yet refined enough for the daily commute. This is it. It rides nicer than a Jeep, goes off-road like a Jeep, and is a distinctive and high quality vehicle. When I pay over 30K for a vehicle, I expect it to be high-quality, and it is. I love that the interior is simple yet has everything you need; I'm not driving a computer. It's rugged and solid and I really love it. I don't have kids, so you should consider that. I gave it a 4 on comfort because it's not an urban SUV. That's not what I wanted though, and I got exactly what I expected! Just a pleasure to drive...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT 4X4 PERFORMANCE AND RELIABILITY

by Jim from Portland, Oregon on June 18, 2014

Unlike most SUVs today, FJ is still truck based. It has great ground clearance and is 4x4 capable. It sits up high so you can see in the rain and snow. The cargo space is not bad and when you are backing up, the rear view camera automatically comes on which solves previous concerns of rear visibility. Reliability is phenomenal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Pleased

by Just Got One of the last ones left from Miami, Florida on March 13, 2015

Just got one of the last few new FJ Cruisers left since they were discontinued after th 2014 model year. Rented one when I was in Oregon a couple of years ago and loved it. Has rugged looks and excellent offroad capabilities while being very civilized and comfortable for city driving as well. Fuel economy is what it is (wasn't expecting a whole lot). Solidly built. Love it and am very happy to have gotten one of the last few new ones left.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Tank

by Tank from Phoenix, Arizona on October 12, 2014

This vehicle is awesome on and off the road. Surprisingly being a jeep/SUV vehicle, it provides the comfort was of a car. Highly reliable and with Toyotas warranty behind it, you can't go wrong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most versitile + reliable 4x4 out there ....PERIOD

by Ol' Man in the Woods from Big Bend wi 53103 on April 28, 2017

I've been all over the world driving 4x4s. I believe that the '14 Toyota FJ Cruiser is the best one in the world for the money! PERIOD!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4