NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 XC40

Consumer Reviews

2019 Volvo XC40

$33,700 - $40,250  MSRP Range
2019 Volvo XC40

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

59 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Volvo XC40?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

WE wanted and love this car!!!

by Dennis from Los Agneles, CA on Thu Aug 23 2018

We love this car. WE have owned Volvos for 35 years. WE had one that had over 400,000 miles. Wish we could have sat in on some of the design areas for the car. Everything works and generally works well but with everything on a computer, the learning curve may be interesting(?) and getting to the information is not always easily intuitive. Not good or bad, just a bit different. That being said, this is the car we wanted and we had looked at more than six different vehicles in the same class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Roomiest small SUV/crossover

by Denny on Tue May 15 2018

Turbo-charged 4 cylinders have plenty of power, good gas mileage, roomy rear storage, handsome exterior, AWD, sophisticated electronics including voice control, front/side/rear sensors warn & stop car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchase of my life to date.

by Michael from Robbinsville NJ on Mon Apr 23 2018

This brand new model lived up to all the hype. I couldn’t be more satisfied with the vehicle itself and the buying process from Princeton Volvo. I ordered the car before it even enter the market and so far it is the best choice I have made. The quality and the styling are both above all expectations!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by Wally 678 from Laguna Niguel, CA on Thu Jun 28 2018

This car drives so smoothly and hugs the road. I love the way it handles . It's stylish and meets my needs exactly. Good acceleration and fuel efficient. Just love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my little Volvo XC40 T5

by Miss Volvo Vivian from Taylorsville, KY on Tue Oct 16 2018

It had been a while since I have used the word "love" in regards to a vehicle. I had a CRV for 16 years and loved it. I finally sold it and purchased a RAV 4 and then Highlander. The Highlander was simply too big for me. I researched and looked at a new CRV but had read about some potential oil/gas engine mixing issues, a Forester and a Mazda. I saw the XC40 on a commercial and was smitten by the look of it but didn't entertain the idea of looking at one for about 2 months. The XC40 looked different than the other vehicles I'd seen and the slightly boxy look caught my eye. Never owned or looked at a Volvo before. My T5 has more than enough power and I don't feel the hesitation or slight vibration I felt when test driving other similar powered engines and has excellent response. The interior is uncluttered, fairly quiet, nicely put together and simple.... and I mean simple as a positive. I like the tablet type controls. The ride is very, very comfortable. Cargo space is ample for me and if I need additional room, I let the rear seats down with a simple touch. My current gas mileage is 28.5 miles/gallon and has been for almost 2 months. It seemed to have taken a bit for it to level out. I am proud to drive this vehicle and feel that the safety features are a definite plus. I know it is a new endeavor for Volvo and myself with this brand but not only the look but the feel of the driving experience has brought a little excitement back into my commutes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever

by Perpetual Enigma from Baltimore, MD on Tue Sep 25 2018

This is my first Volvo and man does it stand up to it’s reputation. It drives like a dream: super smooth and very responsive, has all the latest features and most importantly all the safety features, sensors, cameras and park assist that I wanted. Only con is that the trunk is smallish. I love this car! We paid full price and custom made one but I think it’s well worth the cost and the time they took to deliver

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car overall and I love it.

by Yohannes from Danville, PA on Sat Dec 01 2018

I love it. Compact SUV, excellent performance and very good gas consumption, quiet engine, very nice interior and comfortable. Two things I wish were different are the radio reception being only HD which makes reception of a distant station of lower quality and the seats on the R-design are made of corduroy or similar material that emits unpleasant smell when wet (rainy days). Not sure why they didn't choose leather. Otherwise a great car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice little SUV

by Rolvo731 from Edison, NJ on Wed Jun 06 2018

Love my Volvo so far! 1 month in and couldn’t be more satisfied! With the exception of city mileage being less then expected. Time will tell. This is a must drive if you’re looking for smaller SUV

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The test drive that changed my life!

by J9 from Cornwall, New York on Tue Jul 10 2018

My New XC40 is a drivers car. I love the tight turns, overall performance,safety features, large center screen, dashboard navigation, appleplay, options to change dashboard lighting color, the hook on the glove compartment to hold my hand bag or light bag of groceries so they don’t spill all over. It’s a quiet ride and handles the curves of the mountain I drive on like a dream. No regrets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Trendy Car

by JW3NY from Somers, NY on Mon Apr 16 2018

The XC40 is a beautiful SUV. Lots of technology. It drive very nice. It is pretty quick considering it is a 4 cylinder. The new controls take some getting use to. There is a lot of technology packed in this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2019 Volvo XC40

The verdict:

The XC40 is a stylish, fun-to-drive subcompact that packs the utility of a bigger SUV.

Versus the competition:

The XC40 offers distinctive looks and competitive luxury and technology — all with more practicality than many luxury subcompacts.

The 2019 XC40, Volvo's new small SUV, takes aim at urban and younger buyers with a technical, even cute design and impressive attention to detail. It will do battle with established luxury subcompact SUVs like the Audi Q3, BMW X1 and Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class.

The XC40 is no lightweight compared with Volvo's well-regarded bigger SUVs (except in actual weight): It offers most of the multimedia and safety tech brainpower of the compact XC60 and the mid-size three-row XC90, Cars.com's Best of 2016 winner. But it comes in a tidier, city-size package that's almost a foot shorter and priced about $6,000 lower than a comparable XC60. 

For this review, I drove the two versions that... Read More